cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CFerreira96

Multistep webform - record created when next button is clicked

Hi, I am relatively new to Power Apps Portals / Power Pages so any advice would be great.

I have created a very basic web form / advanced form / multistep form using the portal management studio which consists of two steps (all out-the-box, nothing fancy) and the form works as expected.

However, when I hit the next button on the first step, a record is created. Is there a way to prevent this from happening and only create a record when the final submit button is clicked?

A screen recording has been attached.

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
OliverRodrigues
Super User
Super User

Every "next" click sends a POST and creates/updates the record, this is OOB behaviour and there isn't really anything we can do.

What I normally do is have a default Status/Stage as draft or in progress, and change that when the user submits in the final steps

than I control whatever I need in the back-end by statys

hope this makes sense

If you like this post, give a Thumbs up. Where it solved your request, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users find it.

Power Pages Super User | MVP

Oliver Rodrigues

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
OliverRodrigues
Super User
Super User

Every "next" click sends a POST and creates/updates the record, this is OOB behaviour and there isn't really anything we can do.

What I normally do is have a default Status/Stage as draft or in progress, and change that when the user submits in the final steps

than I control whatever I need in the back-end by statys

hope this makes sense

If you like this post, give a Thumbs up. Where it solved your request, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users find it.

Power Pages Super User | MVP

Oliver Rodrigues

Great thanks for this!