cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Nisarahmed
Level: Power Up

Comments Mandatory in Approval flow

Hi i'm new to the microsoft flow is there i way to make comments mandatory while approving or rejecting, right now i'm getting the comments as optional.If its possible to make it mandatory it will helpful if you give me a link or something which shows how its done.

Thanks in advance.

5 REPLIES 5
Super User
Super User

Re: Comments Mandatory in Approval flow

I don't think that there is a way to do this at the moment. You could create a new approval task and use a do-until the comment is filled in.

Highlighted
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Hi @Nisarahmed,

Do you want to force users entering comments while approving or rejecting an approval email?

I agree with @Pieter_Veenstra's thought almost, if you want to enforce users entering comments while approving or rejecting an approval email directly, I afraid that there is no way to achieve your needs. If you would like this feature to be added in Microsoft Flow, please submit an idea to Flow Ideas Forum:

https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/Flow-Ideas/idb-p/FlowIdeas

In addition, you could consider take a try with the following workaround as an alternative solution:

• Add a proper trigger, here I use Flow Button trigger.
  • Add a "Start an approval" action, specify Assigned to field.
  • Add a Condition, click "Edit in advanced mode", type the following formula:
@empty(body('Start_an_approval')?['comments'])
  • Within "If/yes" branch of Condition, add a "Do Until" action. Within "Do Until" Condition box, click "Edit in advanced mode", type the following formula:
@not(empty(body('Start_an_approval_2')?['comments']))

Within "Do Until" action, add a "Send an email" action, To field set to Approver email dynamic content of the "Start an approval" action. Then add a "Start an approval 2" action, specify Assigned to field.

Image reference:2.JPG

3.JPG