cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sticks1
Regular Visitor

Automate login to web portal

I'm totally new to Power Automate and am trying to build a flow that automates logging into a web portal, and then downloading various reports.  On my browser I have the username and password saved, so usually I simply click "Submit" and I log straight in.

When trying to automate this step, the result is "Failed Login".  

Is there a specific step required to allow Power Automate to login in to web portals that are password protected?

I appreciate any advice!

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi @Sticks1 

You simply need to 

- Launch the browser with your website

- Either store the credentials in a variable within PAD. For password use the Sensitive Text type of variable. (OR if you dont want to store in variable then you will need to use the Azure Key Vault mentioned in both videos below)

- "Populate Text field on webapge" to enter the uname/pwd

- "Press button on webpage" to hit the submit button

You need to Add UI elements for the textboxes and button and then use the above actions.

This video will be of help 

Securing inputs in Power Automate Desktop with Azure Key Vault - YouTube

Another useful link

071 - Using Sensitive Text In Power Automate Desktop + Azure Key Vault - YouTube

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
eric-cheng
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Sticks1 ,

Are you building a cloud flow or a desktop flow to do this?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark my post as a solution
If you have found my response helpful, please give it a thumbs up

Connect on LinkedIn

Sticks1
Regular Visitor

Hi Eric

I'm trying to use a desktop flow.  In theory I want to download a csv file from the website to my PC, then open in excel and format etc.

Thanks

Sticks1

VJR
Super User
Super User

Hi @Sticks1