cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
beckyjc
Level: Power Up

Comparing dates

Hi,

I'm just getting started with Flow and trying to compare a date from Microsoft Dynamics 365 with today's date to send an email if the date from CRM is not greater than or equal to today.

So far, I've got:

@greaterorequals
(
formatDateTime(item()?['abc_latesttimeentered'],'dd-MM-yyyy'),
formatDateTime(utcnow(),'dd-MM-yyyy')
)

This works fine for some records and not others. It seems that it works for those where the (UK format) abc_latesttimeentered date could potentially be misunderstood as US-format, e.g. 03/02/2018 but doesn't work for records with day numbers greater than 12, e.g. 17/03/2018. 

Where am I going wrong? 

Thanks,

Becky

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Comparing dates

Hi @beckyjc,

Which Date format does the abc_latesttimeentered column return? Is it a UK format?

Could you please share a screenshot of your flow's configuration?

Further, could you please show a bit more about the result the abc_latesttimeentered column returned?

I think your thought is correct, the first parameter of formatDateTime() function is required to fill a datetime string which must match ISO 8601 format. The UK format datetime string could not match ISO 8601 format. If you convert the UK format datetime string into other format using formatDateTime() function, the error would show up as below:20.JPG

19.JPG

If the date time the abc_latesttimeentered column returned is a UK format (e.g. 17/03/2018), you could consider take a try to compare with today's date with the following workaround:

• Add a proper trigger, here I use Flow Button trigger.
  • Add a Variables-> "Initialize variable" action, Name set to UK_format_datetimes, Type set to String and Value set to 17/03/2018
  • Add a Compose action, Inputs set to following formula:
split(variables('UK_format_datetimes'),'/')