Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ConanMcDonnell
Regular Visitor

Creating and reviewing tasks and sub-tasks in Planner using Flow

Hi

I wonder if anyone can help.

I'm new to Flow and have been asked if I might be able to help with a solution to the following scenario:

"Is there something in the O365 suite that can help us to schedule tasks, send them to responsible individuals and then get that person to record when they’ve completed them?

Can you advise if there’s something we can use and possibly demo this?

An example would be:

Responsible person:       Transport and Accommodation manager

Reviewer:                           Operations Director

Task:                                      Perform daily vehicle checks

Sub tasks:                            Check vehicle tyres for wear and tear

Check water and oil levels

Lights and indicators are all working

Ensure the car is clean inside and out"

Ensure windscreen is clean

Frequency:                         Daily

We then need to consider the escalation if any of these items are not satisfactory.  Can this be automated?"

My thinking was to create a Flow that would generate a recurring Planner task -  vehicle check - with sub-tasks for the fine detail, using one bucket per driver.

I got as far as creating a recurring task but not sure how to use Flow to generate sub-tasks, or how to monitor for review and possible escalation. Thinking that a SharePoint List might be needed to record and monitor task completion for the purpose of generating warning emails to the reviewer/manager. 

If anyone can shed light on a suitable process, I would be very grateful.

Kind regards

Conan McDonnell

3 REPLIES 3
ScottShearer
Super User
Super User

@ConanMcDonnell :

You can use a Flow recurrence trigger and set it o run once a day.  Then, you can use Flow to create and assign Planner tasks on a daily basis.