cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rswayne

Entire process from OCR to Process Extracted Data to Verify Processed Data

Hi. I am a experienced developer (primarily C#) but fairly new to Azure and to OCR. I work for a large insurance company that uses a legacy OCR extraction and processing tool.  We are examining current technology alternatives.  

I know this is a long post but I wanted to provide a total picture of what we are trying to accomplish.

- We process 100s of 1000s of documents per month, millions of pages.

- Most of our documents contain multiple pages.

- Many of our documents contain multiple document types (Policy, Cancellations, Bills, etc.).

- We service 1000s of clients, and 10s of 1000s of document layouts, and many of the document layouts change often.

- Building and maintaining models (templates) is not an option for us (we gave up on templates a long time ago)

We are working on a proof of concept (POC). Currently, we use the Forms Recognizer (FR) API to extract data using the General Document process and save the data to SQL Server tables (keyvalue, pagelines, pagewords, paragraphs, tables) in our data center.  Then we run stored procedures against the extracted data (post-extraction process) to select the specific values we need.  Sometimes the Key/Value pairs give us what we need but often we must further process the extracted data.  For example, parse street address, city, state, zip from a string that contains this information. Or find effective and expiration dates that were not picked up by the Key/Value pair data.