cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Flow to move folders and hide list item

Hello

I'm new to SharePoint/Flow/Workflow on SharePoint Designer and have inherited a small sub site which already has workflows setup in designer 2013. We have a project register list/form that when a new item is added to the list a unique Quote reference number is created and a corresponding project folder is created. I want to create a new flow that when the Status column of the Projects list changes to Completed the corresponding project folder (created when the new item is added to the list) is moved into a folder called Archive in the same directory and the list item is hidden from view. I've created the basic flow but am not sure how to make it move the correct folder or hide the list item. Can some please help and advise of the best way to do it?

flow sni_LI.jpg

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Helper V
Helper V

Hi @Nick_k, and welcome!

I see that your Flow trigger is "when an item is created or modified," so to make sure that you only move folders with a Status of "Completed," you'll want to add in a couple of things.

First, I suggest adding a "Flag" to your items so that you know what you have already run this Flow on.  This would be a yes/no column hidden from general users.

Second, I would add a SharePoint Get Items action with a filter query to look for items where the status is Completed.  This is necessary since the Flow will trigger on every create/modify.  (Note: you can also add a condition to your trigger, but Get items  keeps it simple for now.)

From here you have a couple of choices, and that depends on whether your Project Folders have a title that matches the Completed project item.  If so, you can make sure you're getting the right folder each time by comparing the folder Name against the List item.