Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Helper II
Helper II

If Statement for Assign To

Hello,

I'm brand new to this so forgive me please for not understanding something that is probably very simple. I have built a flow to request approval for vacation time. In the Assign to: field I want add an If statement for who it is assigned to based on who has sent it in. All Staff approvals will be assigned to the line manager, but the line managers approval will have to go to the general manager.

I have the statement like this:

if(triggerBody()?['Author']equals'John Doe','user@email.com, 'otheruser@email.com')

Just a note, If I don't use an if statement and just assign it to people automatically my flow works perfectly. It's just to narrow this down so the higher level manager only gets requests from one person rather than all staff.
The Author field it is noting in the statement is when I select the Created By field in the Dynamic Content.

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.
5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

Re: If Statement for Assign To

@Nunzie you could do something like this in your flow.

1. When the request arrive, get the response details (if you are using Microsoft Forms for the request).

2. Add an Office 365 Users Get Manager (V2) action and select Responder's Email from the dynamic content. That will get the manager of the person who submited the request.

3. Add a Start and wait for an approval and in the Assigned to field select Mail from the Get Manager (V2) section of the dynamic content.

0 trigger-approval.png

Add a condition of Outcome is equal to Approve.

In the If yes channel add another Get Manager (V2) action but this time select Mail from the first Get Manager (V2) action. That will get the manager's manager and you can then send an email to them with the details of the approval.

1-condition-getManager.png

Rob
Los Gallardos