cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SteveODea
Frequent Visitor

Import text file into Sharepoint List

Hi, I'm fairly new to Power Automate and need some help getting out of the starting blocks with this particular problem.

Essentially, I have a fixed width text file which I receive from a 3rd party on a daily basis which I need to import into a SharePoint list for which I have already defined the Columns (Col1, Col2, etc)

The text file is (oddly) named AB.CE and has no headers and the data contained within needs to be split based on the following:

Col 1 - Characters 1-8

Col 2 - Characters 9-10

Col 3 - Characters 11-15

Col 4 - Characters 16-21

Col 5 - Characters 22-55

Col 6 - Characters 56-72

Col 7 - Characters 73-81

Can anyone give me a steer as to how to get power automate to read the data so that I can feed this into a Create Items Action?

My data file looks like this:

Untitled.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Jronash
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

You'll have to use some of the expressions to accomplish this.  I don't have enough info to show you exactly how to accomplish it, but I can point you in the direction of the tools you will need to use.

First, you'll need to take your text input and convert it into an array with each line as it's own item.  You can accomplish this with the split() expression.  The split() expression takes two parameters - the first is the text string, and the second is the separator.  I'm guessing that in your data the separator will just be the new line code.  So the expression will look something like this:

split(output('Your_Data'), '\n')

Now you have an array with each line separated, but you need to split each line into columns.  The best way to do this is to use a Select action.

substring.png