cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SamBasso
Helper I
Helper I

Issue with multiplication

Hi All I am trying to multiply two numbers. One number is from list when item is created or updated. The second is sourced from get items actions. I am trying to perform the calculation in a Compose action (realise this may be wrong approach - I am still new to Power Automate).

I received this error: Unable to process template language expressions in action 'Compose' inputs at line '1' and column '12206': 'The template language function 'mul' expects its second parameter to be an integer or a decimal number. The provided value is of type 'Null'. Please see https://aka.ms/logicexpressions#div for usage details.'.

This is the calculation in Compose: mul(triggerOutputs()?['body/Price'],outputs('Get_items')?['body/Referral Fee'])

The issue is with the Get_Items syntax as if I replace it with a value of say 2, the flow works. Both columns have are of type Number - but the column from Get_Items is shown as a percentage to 0dp.

Attaching images below. If anyone could help I would appreciate it, thanks. 55.PNG56.PNG

55.PNG56.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@SamBasso   some columns in the array are null. 

Your sintax is correct, but when the expression try to calculate your second parameter that is your get items and contents some null values in the array you have this error.

You can try adding a condition to compare just the values that are not null.. and try adding a data type like int to your mul parameters like this.

mul(int(triggerOutputs()?['body/Price']),int(outputs('Get_items')?['body/Referral Fee']))

see the suggestion is in bold. 😉

Did I answer your question? Please consider to Mark
my post as a solution! to guide others :winking_face:

Proud to be a Flownaut!

If you want you can follow me at www.christianabata.com Quieres contenido en español? Síguenos en Power Automate LA

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8