cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bkk
Helper I
Helper I

MFA Authentication or APP Passwords

One of my customer has MFA on all accounts including service accounts and their security team would not exclude service accounts from MFA. I am new to Power Automate. I do have some flows developed that runs on a schedule to connect to SharePoint online data source (lists and/or document libraries). It is using SharePoint HTTP connectors to complete the work. If I set this connector with Service account with MFA enabled

1. Does it cause problems? (will it keep asking for MFA authorization every time the flow runs?)

2. If it does, for Office 365 in turn for SharePoint, using App Passwords a reasonable alternative?

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/active-directory/user-help/multi-factor-authentication-end-us...

Can anyone shed some light for me?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
eric-cheng
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @bkk ,

There are many factors depending on the policies setup in AAD which we wont know about.

It is possible to adjust the token lifetime policy to reduce the times users will need to authenticate.   Please read here for more details.

Just back on the topic of MFA conditional policies,  I am sure the security team is aware but it is possible to set MFA exclusions at a granular level e.g. to specific cloud services, from trusted devices, from the corporate network or whitelisted IPs.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark my post as a solution
If you have found my response helpful, please give it a thumbs up

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
eric-cheng
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @bkk ,

There are many factors depending on the policies setup in AAD which we wont know about.