cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
darvinm
Frequent Visitor

Need Help With IF Expression

Good day! I'm a bit new to Power Automate and need help with an IF expression that keeps returning "The expression is invalid." I enjoy working with Excel and I am probably assuming it should work similarly to it and that's probably my problem. Here is what I would like to accomplish.

I am using the "Get User Profile (V2)" to extract an email and want to compare the returned email to a specific email address. If it is the same I want one response and if it is not the same I would like another. I would like to expand this to check multiple email addresses but I need to get it working with one first!

I tried this expression in both a "Compose" and "Initialize Variable" but get the same "Invalid" message on either.

if(outputs('Get_user_profile_(V2)')?['body/mail']='me@my-email.com','Match','No Match')

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Paulie78
Super User
Super User

You were not far wrong, try this instead:

if
(
	equals(outputs('Get_user_profile_(V2)')?['body/mail'],'me@my-email.com'),
	'Match',
	'No Match'
)

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
kdavis91
Continued Contributor
Continued Contributor

@darvinm,

Have you considered using a "condition" action block?

thanks,

Kyle

darvinm
Frequent Visitor

Thanks for replying! Yes I have thought of that but I plan to have at least 6 email addresses to check against so I would have to nest the conditions. I was hoping to avoid having to nest that many conditions in this flow for reasons I wont explain for fear of boring you! Using conditions will be my last resort if I can't figure out the expression.

Paulie78
Super User
Super User

You were not far wrong, try this instead:

if
(
	equals(outputs('Get_user_profile_(V2)')?['body/mail'],'me@my-email.com'),
	'Match',
	'No Match'
)
darvinm
Frequent Visitor

Thanks! That did it. I appreciate it. 

Helpful resources