cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SylvieLet17
Level 8

ODATA Query Filter versus Condition + Apply to each

Hi all, 

I have a general question about Flow performance. 

I'm new to ODATA, but I've been working with Flow for a while. 

I have a library with 600+ documents and steadily increasing. 

If I need to build a recurring flow to check on documents that are "expired" based on a date or text column, would it be better in terms of performance to build a "Get file properties" in an apply to each with a condition, or to build an ODATA guery filter in terms of performance?

I did try a condition-based flow and noticed it was extremely slow, but I haven't successfully managed to try an ODATA query yet (having issues with dates). Just wondering if it is worth it, or if it will be the same performance?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: ODATA Query Filter versus Condition + Apply to each

Hi @SylvieLet17,

When there are mounting items in your list, it would be better to use Odata filter query to return the needed items. Otherwise, you will have to filter with each item with a Condition and which will be very slow.

What’s the issue you are having with date column?

When using Odata filter query with Date column, I would suggest you use a custom date column with date only format, but not the default date column such as Created/Modified.

Say I have a date column called Date, I want to filter out items that Date equals to today. I will use the following code:

Date eq ‘formatDateTime(utcnow(),’yyyy-MM-dd’)’

1.PNG

Please check this doc for more details:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/previous-versions/dynamicsnav-2016/hh169248(v=nav.90)

Best regards,

Mabel Mao

Community Support Team _ Mabel Mao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
ThreeTen