cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
drollercoaster

Question on folders and tagging

Hi all 

I am completely new to Power Apps, and I'm struggling. 

I have 2 requirements. First, imagine a folder structure like below:

Shared Documents

+Country1

+Country2

+ProductName1

+ProductName2

+ProposalDocs

+PricingDocs

+ProductDescriptionDocs

If a document is uploaded into the country folder, I would like to tag the "Country" column with the of the folder name. For example, if a document is uploaded into "Country1", I would like to tag the "Country" column with the value "Country1".

If a document is uploaded into the productname folder, I would like to tag the "Product" and "Country" column with the appropriate values. For example, if a document is uploaded into "ProductName2", I would like to tag the "Product" column with the value "ProductName2" and the "Country" column with "Country2".

This same rule applies when a document is uploaded into the 3rd level subfolder, say, "ProposalDocs".

The maximum depth of subfolders is 3.

My second requirement is, how can I automate the creation of the 3rd level subfolders? When someone creates the folder Country2, nothing should happen. When they create "ProductName2", I would like an action to fire off that automatically creates the 3 subfolders of "ProposalDocs", "PricingDocs", and "ProductDescriptionDocs".

This is so frustrating. I am struggling trying to figure this out. Please help. Please also recommend some good books on Power Automate. 

1 REPLY 1

Hi @drollercoaster 

The approach to your first requirement would depend on your type of trigger. For example, I have used "When a file is created (properties only)" which gives me the ability to find the Folder Path. The folder path is dynamic content which I can then use to figure out where the document is stored.