cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
_jason
Helper I
Helper I

Questions about Power Automate Approval Flow

I am quite new to Power Automate. Would appreciate if anyone could answer the following questions.

1. Is there a limitation on how long a flow can run? What will happen if a flow is expired?

2. Is there an expiration on the duration of an approval? If an approval is expired or timed out, could user still respond to the corresponding approval email?

3. Is there a way to cancel an approval in the flow, in which the approval is created using the "Start and wait for an approval" or "Start an approval" activity?

4. Is there a way to hide "Requested by" in the approval email?

5. What is the best practice to send out approval reminders?

-- Send out a plan email after some interval, OR time out the 1st approval first after some interval and send the 2nd approval?

2 REPLIES 2
jinivthakkar
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

@_jason  Let me try answering your questions:

1. Is there a limitation on how long a flow can run? What will happen if a flow is expired? - Yes there is a limitation and the flow can run max upto 30 days.

2. Is there an expiration on the duration of an approval? If an approval is expired or timed out, could user still respond to the corresponding approval email? - Yes there is a limitation and the flow can run max upto 30 days, but you could add an action which would run on expired or timed out, the user will not be able to respond to approval email after expiry or timeout.

3. Is there a way to cancel an approval in the flow, in which the approval is created using the "Start and wait for an approval" or "Start an approval" activity? - You can reject the flow, else from the backend, you can select the instance and cancel any specific instance which is in progress.

4. Is there a way to hide "Requested by" in the approval email? - No.