cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JoanneCKlein
Level: Power Up

Receiving 'Access Denied' when adding an action on a Microsoft Flow to insert a new item on SPO list

1. I've created a data connection to a SharePoint Online site. The current status of the connection is 'Connected'.
  2. I'm in the process of creating my first Microsoft Flow to read a tweet with specific text in it and, if found, insert an item into a list on the SharePoint Online site.
  3. When I try to add the action to create the item, I receive this message:

"Access denied. You do not have permission to perform this action or access this resource."

I am a global administrator on the tenant, I am also a Site Collection administrator on the site URL I enter.

Is there any other configuration I have to do in order to make this work?

8 REPLIES 8
Coen
Level: Powered On

Re: Receiving 'Access Denied' when adding an action on a Microsoft Flow to insert a new item on SPO

I ran into a similar problem a few days ago. What I did was deleted all browser content, and recreated the connection under connections. Had to leave for a bit after that, but when I tried to connect later again that day it worked. Perhaps that will fix it for you as well.

Power Automate Staff SameerCh
Power Automate Staff

Re: Receiving 'Access Denied' when adding an action on a Microsoft Flow to insert a new item on SPO

Sorry you hit this issue!

What happens is that sometimes the access token we use to access SPO on your behalf gets expired (and we run into issues renewing it).  If it happens consistently, do let know.

JoanneCKlein

I tried deleting/re-adding the connection.  I still get the same 'Access Denied' issue.

Power Automate Staff Sunay
Power Automate Staff

Hi, 

You can check the status of your connection by clicking on the Avatar menu>My connections, in the top right corner.