cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mogulman
Level 8

Recommendations on How to Start With Flow.

I'm just getting started with Flow.  I've created an Azure SQL DB to hold data and created a partial Powerapp to enter/edit data.  

Application

The application involves the process of making a trade.  It requires numerous steps.  I have a table where each row describes the trade and numerous checkboxes to record the progress.  My desire would be to:

1. Some trigger in Powerapps to start flow.
2. Create a Task record with step info (trade name, step name, assigned to, due date etc).  Make sure task hasn't been previously created before creating it.
3. Have Task record trigger sending an email to appropriate party.
4. User marks task as completed.
5. Flow updates appropriate trade record checkbox that step is complete.
6. This triggers next step in flow.

I initially thought I could use triggers to create task and update trade record but I found out Powerapps doesn't support triggers on SQL Server DBs.

I may be thinking about this all wrong.  How should I approach this?

3 REPLIES 3
leyburn19
Level 10

Re: Recommendations on How to Start With Flow.

1. Some trigger in Powerapps to start flow.  Select Action Menu > Flow and then Add New Flow This will take you to Flow with a trigger created as Power Apps.  When the flow is built and saved it will list in the flows box.  To add to a button or just highlight the button and click the flow to add.  Careful - If you have other fuction on teh button it will overwrite them all.  In this case add a temp new button to add your flow and copy and paste into the other button