cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hobo
Frequent Visitor

Remind and Escalate Approvals based on Business Days/Working Hours

Hi all, 

I'm very new to Power automate but have succesfully managed to set up a workflow with multiple approvals etc. and am quite happy with how it's working. All the approval steps etc. are logged into a Sharepoint list for records. 

My issue is that I want my reminder (set up by a parallel "do until" flow that checks a variable of approval complete) combined with a delay. How can I set this delay/reminder up to be based on working hours

Second question is the Timeing out of approvals in order to be an escalation based on time out and the following approval to run only if the first one times out. How can that timeout be set to business hours? 

Thanks all for your help - I have googled a lot but all the solutions seem quite complex - I imagine there must be an easy solution given that this must be something that most people would require? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
manuelstgomes
Super User II
Super User II

Hi @Hobo 

The first question regarding working hours. A simple function will tell you the current hour:

int(formatDateTime(utcNow(),'hh'))

Then you can compare it with the working time. Here's an example Power Automate:

Screenshot_2020-07-27_at_10_02_19.jpg

The second question is a little bit more tricky. The short answer is that you can't. The timeout occurs 28 days after the approval is triggered. You can configure the "Run after" to catch that timeout and take the appropriate measures. Here you can do the same and validate if it's working hours, but you can't control when the timeout occurs.

Screenshot 2020-07-27 at 10.05.18.png

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Cheers
Manuel

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
manuelstgomes
Super User II
Super User II

Hi @Hobo