cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gwong
Level: Powered On

Request manager approval for selected file template

Hi All,

I am new to flow and I as I am studying some templates, I am a bit confused on how this flow works. I did some flow about receiving emails once a file is uploaded and among others. But the request manager approval template confuses me on how to use it.

Thanks,

Gilbert

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
pNabin
Level 8

Re: Request manager approval for selected file template

Hi @gwong ,

This Request manager approval for selected file template is used to ask a manager if he approves the selected file or not. If yes, it sends notification email to the user that the file is approved by manager with reason and if rejected, sends email notification to the requester that the file has been rejected with reason. Let's go into details step by step:

1. For Selected file: It is the trigger of the flow. We have to provide the sharepoint site url and Document library name in this trigger action. NOTE: After we save this flow, the name of this flow will appear on any file selection in the selected sharepoint document library like in the screenshot. Make sure this flow is not turned off because turning off will hide this flow  in that document library.
manager approval 1.PNG

2. Get file properties:

We need to provide the same sharepoint site url and document library as we have entered in the first trigger control. I don't know why we have to enter the same value again but the value should be same else, it will get the properties of the file with same ID in other document library. The ID value is the Id of the selected file which is the default provided value.

3. Get my profile:

Get your(the workflow triggering person) profile information. This information is needed to find manager in next step.

4. Get manager:

Based on step 3, it finds the Manager of the triggering person.