cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mzie
Frequent Visitor

Saving e-mails and attachments from Outlook to a folder with a specific name

Hello there,

we've had Office 365 since a few years now, yesterday I started playing with the Teams Apps to see what can I do with them and I came across Power Automate. Pretty quickly I understood its potential. I'm a Civil Engineer, I design structures, so I don't do any programming at work.

So the same day I found about this tool I came up with an idea to automate one task at the office we usually have to do. When we receive e-mails with attachments for a certain project we copy the e-mail and the attachment to a project "incoming" folder for storage (an additional precaution). The folder name is usually in the format "YYYYMMDD Title_of_the_e_mail".

So now I'm trying to use Power Apps to automate this task - I got to the point where I can save an e-mail to a folder with its name as the current date, the email copies itself there with the extension *.eml along with the attachment as a separate file. I do this using my onedrive now.

I have two problems:

1.How can I name the folder in the format "current date + title of the e-mail"? I tried creating two variables set as String type and use another variable to glue them together with the function 'concatenate', as seen on the screen: https://imgur.com/hluH34n.

The version where I only had the folder name worked when I inserted the line formatDateTime(utcNow(),'yyyy-MM-dd') as a function in the action where I type in the save-file destination: https://imgur.com/iajeVk6 So I tried doing the same with the 'variable 3' - the variable where I use the function concatenate, as seen here: https://imgur.com/KRiEnVk

And it didn't work 🙂 I admit I'm wandering in the dark here, I'm not a programmer, I used to learn C++, later a bit of VBA, but that was 10+ years ago. Also I don't have a debugger here, so I can't even test the content of the variables.