cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
personalcompute
Frequent Visitor

Send file share link via SMTP mail when a file is created in OneDrive

I'm new to Power Automate and I can't figure this out. What I'm trying to do is:

A) When a file is created in OneDrive folder, a share link is created. 

B) Depending on which folder the new file was created, send the file share link via SMTP mail to different receipients.

The issues I'm facing are:

1) My folder in OneDrive is not recognised as folder but as file. When I create an OneDrive step, my folder doesn't show up in that step in [ *Folder -> Show Picker ] but it is available in [ *File -> Show Picker ].

2) How do I pass the share link for this newly created file to be used in mail in latter step? 

3) I'm using [ Switch ] to differentiate folder path with the intention stated in B). As I test my flow, the Case was not triggered because the folder path obtained in the [ Switch ] step was some random characters eg. ahGRD5kJFD and the folder path I specified in [ Case -> *Equals ] is /Root/New Folder

8 REPLIES 8
ekarim2020
Super User
Super User

You will need something like this logic:

ekarim2020_0-1625574836934.png

ekarim2020
Super User
Super User

For the folder path:

ekarim2020_2-1625575564214.png

You will see this because the file path is encoded to base64:

ekarim2020_0-1625575490058.png

Use an expression to see the file folder path by using decodeBase64(FilePath)

decodeBase64(triggerOutputs()?['headers/x-ms-file-path-encoded'])

ekarim2020_3-1625575615473.png
This returns the file path as human readable:
ekarim2020_1-1625575523415.png

Ellis

Thank you. Using the Substring funstion, I was able to extract only the folder path. 

Thank you. It works smoothly. Do you have any idea why one of my folder is not listed in the first step [When a file is created -> *Folder ]? 

ekarim2020
Super User
Super User