cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JustJacob
Regular Visitor

Sharepoint update with email data

Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to the powerautomate app - I've managed to set up some basic automations but now I'm stuck and have no idea what to do now 😞

I have a dediacted folder in my O365 mailbox called "leads". Emails in this folder are going to have subject in format: ABC - Name Surname. Email body will include Phone (after words: "phone:"), Email (after words: "email), number (to two decimal places) after words "your number:" and some random text created by user.

I have also a Sharepoint list called "leads" in which there are columns as following:

Column#1 Project_name

Column#2 Name

Column#3 Surname

Column#4 Phone

Column#5 Email

Column#6 Your number  

I would like to:

1. extract from email subject Name and Surname

2. extract from email subject ABC (this is the project name so it doesn't change) 

3. extract from body Phone

4. get "from" email address 

5. extract from email body Your number

and use this data to update my Sharepoint list:

Column#1 ID: 1 ABC - Name Surname (and loop for incrementation the number at the begining for each new update)

Column#2 Name: Name from email subject

Column#3 Surname: Surname from email subject

Column#4 Phone: Phone from email body

Column#5 Email: email address ("from")

Column#6 Your number: Number from email body

I was trying to create some automation based on this post https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/General-Power-Automate/Use-variable-from-email-subject-as-the-ID...

however I receive an error that my ID should be integer not a text. 

Could someone please enlighten me why I get an error here ? Thank you in advance,

cheers,

Jacob

5 REPLIES 5

@JustJacob 

Hi there.  So, a couple of ideas... First (and easiest) would be a third-party tool like Parserr.  I use it all the time to do exactly what you're talking about.  Very easy to use and very worthwhile.