cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Simple flow help - Review flow

Hi - I am new to all of this and have a very simple question

I would like to create an auto generated email to a document owner 30 days before expiry of a document to inform them to review content.  Is there a template that can achieve this?  

Any help appreciated.

Gareth

15 REPLIES 15
Highlighted
Super User II
Super User II

Hi @gforber 

Can you define how you define the expiration date of the document? Stored somewhere? A rule in SharePoint?

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Cheers
Manuel

Highlighted

Hi manuel,

This expiration date will be held as a data field in the SharePoint library that will be manually updated

Regards,

Gareth

Highlighted

HI @gforber 

I would do the following:

1. Trigger - select the scheduled option and run it in the frequency you want.
  2. Get all the values that you didn't send an email. You can use an OData query to achieve by doing a query like <Date's Field> lt addDays(utcnow(),-30) AND <EmailSent> nq 'Yes'.
  3. For each value, send an email and update it with the flag "Email Sent."

That's it :).

Cheers
Manuel

Highlighted

@manuelstgomes  Sorry for the stupid question, this is the first time I've used flow.  is an OData query the same as an SQL query?  We don't have that enabled on our flow service.

Highlighted

Hi @gforber 

It's not a stupid question at all. It's my fault I didn't explain it properly.

Please check if this example helps you.

2020-02-05 15_10_57-Create your flow _ Power Automate.png

I used the "Created" field to test but you can replace it with the name of the SharePoint column that stores the expiration date.