Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
southafrican
Frequent Visitor

Update SharePoint List Items Flow

Hello 

I'm a little new to Power Automate/Flow. Basically what I've got a setup

1. A User in a Power App will submit for a budget change to a certain line item. This will create a line item in a SharePoint List
  2. The Budget change information will be held in columns dedicated for requested changes. Like a temporary place to store the information
  3. Then once another user (approver) changes the status to approved (column) of that line item, I want the Flow to automatically pick up that that row has been approved. 
  4. Then the requested changes to the budget get moved from the dedicated columns (as mentioned in 2) to another column where the new budget will sit. 

I'm sure this is possible, but as I'm new to all this, I'm not sure how to accomplish this. Through a flow, Screenshots of a possible flow would be helpful, if possible. 

3 REPLIES 3
efialttes
Super User
Super User

Hi!

My suggestion is to use Sharepoint trigger 'When an item is created or modified'.

Now, there are several approaches:

1.- Use either conditional triggers or a condition inside your flow; please note you need to design carefully since this can lead to infinite loops if your flow needs to update the item as I believe it does.

2.- Use an aux boolean Column to let users report when your logic should run and when it shouldn't. So SP list users manually set the flag to YES, your flows does the magic and automatically sets the flag to NO. You can combine this approach with approach#1 and this way avoid infinite loops

3.- Activate Version History on your SP list, so your flow compares current Status value and also last value stored by means of 'Send an HTTP request to Sharepoint'; in order to avoid infinite loops.

You can get a good overview of the last two approaches in the following post