cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
bennyblanco
Frequent Visitor

What happens if flow owner no longer works for organization

If I create a recurring task in Flow (e.g. checking something every day), and next month I resign, will the task still continue? If not, how can I make sure it does? If other owners are added, what would they need to do if the creator of the flow is deleted from the organization?

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Pstork1
Dual Super User
Dual Super User

Assuming that your on-premises Active Directory is syncing with your Office 365 Tenant here is what happens normally.

  1. After the user is missing from the AD sync the user account will be deleted in Azure AD
  2. If the user is the only owner then the Flow will be disabled after the user account is deleted
  3. An admin with a P2 license can add an additional owner using the Environment Admin center Resources tab.
  4. The new owner can re-enable the flow and re-authorize the Connections.  At this point the Flow will run again.
  5. An Email will be sent to their manager (per AD) telling them to transfer any necessary content out of user's OneDrive before it is deleted in 30 days
  6. 30 days later the user's OneDrive will be deleted. If the Flow is using OneDrive it will need to be edited to use a different OneDrive before this happens.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Join me at 365EduCon in Chicago on Sept. 26-30 where I'll be presenting on the Power Platform!

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
gamoraes
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hi @bennyblanco 

 

If only you are the owner the flow will be disabled. 

 

Else the only thing that they need to do is change the connections(if necessary).

When you share a flow all owners can change the connection.


Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Gustavo Moraes, o astronauta brasileiro do Flow!


Pstork1
Dual Super User
Dual Super User

Assuming that your on-premises Active Directory is syncing with your Office 365 Tenant here is what happens normally.

  1. After the user is missing from the AD sync the user account will be deleted in Azure AD
  2. If the user is the only owner then the Flow will be disabled after the user account is deleted
  3. An admin with a P2 license can add an additional owner using the Environment Admin center Resources tab.
  4. The new owner can re-enable the flow and re-authorize the Connections.  At this point the Flow will run again.
  5. An Email will be sent to their manager (per AD) telling them to transfer any necessary content out of user's OneDrive before it is deleted in 30 days
  6. 30 days later the user's OneDrive will be deleted. If the Flow is using OneDrive it will need to be edited to use a different OneDrive before this happens.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Join me at 365EduCon in Chicago on Sept. 26-30 where I'll be presenting on the Power Platform!
ScottShearer
Super User
Super User

@bennyblanco 

I agree with @gamoraes and @Pstork1 but would like to add that you don't need a P2 license to add owners if you are using the Flow license that comes with Office 365.  Also, to the best of my knowledge, you don't need a P2 license to add/remove owners via the Flow admin center (but you need to be a Flow admin....) when using the Office 365 Flow license.

 

 

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Scott
bennyblanco
Frequent Visitor

Thank you all for the replies, very much appreciated, got it now.

Does it really get disable if the only owner got deleted?i saw a scenario where flow still running after the onwer got removed.How long does the data remains ?how do we check where the configuration is saved?

The flow actually runs using an OAuth authorization that is periodically removed.  So yes, a flow will continue to run after a maker has been deleted.  But it will only do that until the OAuth authentication tries to renew itself.  At that point it will fail because the user object isn't available anymore.



-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Join me at 365EduCon in Chicago on Sept. 26-30 where I'll be presenting on the Power Platform!

If the flow creator get deleted (even if there are other owners) what happend if it was assigned a flow licence with premium activity and was using these premium activities in flows he created?

 

When the flow start on an event, will it still run the premium activites even if owners do not have access to premium activities?

The license used will be based on whoever created the OAuth connection that the flow runs under.  For most flows that is the original maker.  So if that user goes away the flow will fail until connections are transferred to another owner.  When they are transferred that new owner will need to have the same licensing that the old own had.  The licensing is based on the user who creates or recreates the OAuth connection.



-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Join me at 365EduCon in Chicago on Sept. 26-30 where I'll be presenting on the Power Platform!

If the flow has multiple owners is it safe to say the OAuth will jump to the next owner?

No, I don't think it will fix itself automatically.  One of the other owners would need to edit the flow and refresh the connection credentials.



-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Join me at 365EduCon in Chicago on Sept. 26-30 where I'll be presenting on the Power Platform!
Zak
Regular Visitor

will the flow be deleted if the owner was deleted a long time ? 

Pstork1
Dual Super User
Dual Super User

This is a really old thread.  Please post this as a new question.  You will get more notice and a better chance of an answer.  Others will also be able to find the answer easier.



-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Join me at 365EduCon in Chicago on Sept. 26-30 where I'll be presenting on the Power Platform!

Helpful resources

Announcements
Power Platform Conf 2022 768x460.jpg

Join us for Microsoft Power Platform Conference

The first Microsoft-sponsored Power Platform Conference is coming in September. 100+ speakers, 150+ sessions, and what's new and next for Power Platform.

New Ideas Forum MPA.jpg

A new place to submit your Ideas for Power Automate

Announcing a new way to share your feedback with the Power Automate Team.

MPA Virtual Workshop Carousel 768x460.png

Register for a Free Workshop

Learn to digitize and optimize business processes and connect all your applications to share data in real time.

MPA Licensing.jpg

Ask your licensing questions at the Power Automate AMA!

Join Priya Kodukula and the licensing team, super users and MVPs to find answers to your questions on Power Automate licensing.

Users online (1,715)