Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Helper II
Helper II

Why does my flow keep triggering?

I am a flow newbie.

I have a workflow with a manual trigger so that every time an item is created or updated, it will run. It will populate a text column with the folder path, then replace the "/" in the folder path with a ", " and populate a text Keywords column. That seems to work, but I noticed the workflow keeps triggering. It's like it registers the fact that two columns were updated as a new modification and triggers the workflow again.

Again, I am new at this.

I want my workflow to run either when new content is uploaded to my library OR when I want it to run.

1 First Action.png2 Second Action.png3 Third Action.png4 Fourth Action.png

I really don't know what I'm doing. I can't explain why I built the flow this way except that when I try taking actions out or rearranging them, it breaks.

Is there a reason why this setup would make my flow trigger up to 5 or 7 times?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

Re: Why does my flow keep triggering?

@ACPBSCi 

So, if I understand correctly, you have a manual Flow that updates an item.  You also have a Flow that runs when an item is changed.  You run the manual Flow and the automated Flow that runs on change kicks off.  And, if the automated Flow also updates the item, you go into an infinite loop.

Take a look at this blog that I posted a day or so ago.

The issue is that the Automated Flow will run, as designed, when an update is made even if that update is from another Flow or the Flow that is updating the item.  You can use the technique that I describe in my blog to stop this behavior.  In my blog, I mention setting a value in an multi-line append text column.  In your case, you will want to do this in both of your Flows but you'll only need the trigger condition in the automated Flow.