cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
XP
New Member

Will the Copy Files template cause duplicates?

I am reading this article: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/flow/guided-learning/build-flows#step-3

 

It is about setting up a flow that will allow you to upload your files to OneDrive and it will automatically be synced to cloud services too.

 

I have a few questions:

  1. What if I deleted the uploaded file? I might have uploaded wrong file. Then re-upload again.
  2. What if I rename the files?
  3. What if permanently delete the files?
  4. What if I move the files to different location?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
v-xida-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @XP,

 

I suppose that you want to know if the Copy Files template takes effect when you deleted the uploaded file, rename the file, delete the file permanently and move the file to different location. Is it true?

 

For your first question, when you delete the uploaded file in OneDrive, the same file in Dropbox would not be deleted. If you re-upload another file into OneDrive, a new file would be created in Dropbox.

 

For your second question, if you rename the uploaded file in OneDrive, the same copied file in Dropbox would not be renamed and it remain original name.

 

For your third question, when you delete the uploaded file permanently, the copied file in Dropbox would not be deleted.

 

For your forth question, if you move uploaded files to differently, the copied file in Dropbox would not be moved, it stays in original location.

 

In actually, the flow would create a new file in Dropbox that is not associated with the uploaded file in OneDrive with the “Copy Files” template.

 

Best regards,

Kris

Community Support Team _ Kris Dai
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
v-xida-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @XP,

 

I suppose that you want to know if the Copy Files template takes effect when you deleted the uploaded file, rename the file, delete the file permanently and move the file to different location. Is it true?

 

For your first question, when you delete the uploaded file in OneDrive, the same file in Dropbox would not be deleted. If you re-upload another file into OneDrive, a new file would be created in Dropbox.

 

For your second question, if you rename the uploaded file in OneDrive, the same copied file in Dropbox would not be renamed and it remain original name.

 

For your third question, when you delete the uploaded file permanently, the copied file in Dropbox would not be deleted.

 

For your forth question, if you move uploaded files to differently, the copied file in Dropbox would not be moved, it stays in original location.

 

In actually, the flow would create a new file in Dropbox that is not associated with the uploaded file in OneDrive with the “Copy Files” template.

 

Best regards,

Kris

Community Support Team _ Kris Dai
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

Helpful resources

Announcements
Process Advisor

Introducing Process Advisor

Check out the new Process Advisor community forum board!

MPA User Group

Welcome to the User Group Public Preview

Check out new user group experience and if you are a leader please create your group

MBAS on Demand

Microsoft Business Applications Summit sessions

On-demand access to all the great content presented by the product teams and community members! #MSBizAppsSummit #CommunityRocks

Users online (26,773)