cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
skim22
Level: Powered On

new item vs. new document

Hi Community,

I'm new to MS Flow and have a rudimentary question.  Forgive my ignorance.  I'm attempting to use an existing template that will send an Outlook e-mail automatically when a new item is created in SharePoint.  My question is, as far as SharePoint is concerned, is there a difference between a "new item" vs "new document"?  The reason I ask is because I've created a new document in my SharePoint document library, yet when I start my Flow template, its asking for a "List Name".  I don't have a list name.  The flow I want to create is for an e-mail to automatcally be sent with a new document is created.  What am I missing here?  Thanks!

flow.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: new item vs. new document

There is a difference between lists and libraries in Flow.  If you want to send an email when a new file is added to a document library, you'll probably want to use the SharePoint - When a File is created (properties only) trigger.  

Do you want the email generated anytime a file is added to a library or just in a certain folder?  If you want to respond to files being created in a specific folder, take a look at the folder related triggers.

FileisCreated.jpg

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Scott

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Super User
Super User

There is a difference between lists and libraries in Flow.  If you want to send an email when a new file is added to a document library, you'll probably want to use the SharePoint - When a File is created (properties only) trigger.  

Do you want the email generated anytime a file is added to a library or just in a certain folder?  If you want to respond to files being created in a specific folder, take a look at the folder related triggers.