cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
amulya222000
Frequent Visitor

select approver from sharepoint list for approval

I need to set up an approval as follows:

•  When an individual uploads a document to "approval required folder" the person should be able to select who gets to approve their file.
  • To enable them to select from multiple approvers i have set up a sharepoint list with a list of approvers
  • I need to set up a flow where the person can select from the approvers list who approves their document. 
  • An email gets sent to the approver to review and approve the file. 

Does anyone know how to do this?

This is my first time working with automate, and im stuck on how to allow for selectivity from a list of approvers in power automate (bullet point 3 in specific) .

Thanks in advance. 🙂 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@amulya222000 

You're right - I should have been more clear...

I should have said to create a lookup column (required) that links to a list where you have the approvers listed in a person or group column.   The List where you list the approvers should have the title column where you'll enter the individuals name and a person or group column where you'll select the approver.

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Scott

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ScottShearer
Super User III
Super User III

@amulya222000 

I suggest that you add a lookup column from the SharePoint library to SharePoint list where you have the approvers listed.  Make it a required column.  When a user uploads a document, they will be required to select an approver. 

Note that the document will be created before the Approver column has been populated, so you'll want to use a "When a file is created or modified"  trigger rather than an "While a file is created" trigger.  Another option is to use the "For a selected file" trigger.