cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ShMi

Added new Table to Export to Data Lake - Now Sync is blocked

Hi,

I have been exporting a few tables to Data Lake since a few months. Now I added a new table to this data lane. The Initial sync status remains at "Not started" and is blocking the sync completely now.

Here a snap shot of the message!

ShMi_0-1617196590863.png

Can anyone help me explicitly trigger the sync.

Thanks

-S

5 REPLIES 5
ChrisPiasecki
Super User
Super User

Hi @ShMi,

This behavior is expected as described in the documentation. Your original tables will begin to sync again once the initial full sync for the newly added table is completed.

---
Please click Accept as Solution if my post answered your question. This will help others find solutions to similar questions. If you like my post and/or find it helpful, please consider giving it a Thumbs Up.

Hi @ChrisPiasecki ,

Thanks. In fact I was expecting the "initial sync" for the new table to complete in a few minutes, before the sync for other tables would resume. The initial sync was blocked (or had not resumed) even after almost 3 weeks. So had to get help from Microsoft Support, who helped get the sync task reset.

Here some points (guesses) I derived at along the way:

1. There are two ways you can mark a table to "export to data lake" - either by opening the table in make portal and then hitting the "Export to data lake" and then select the data lake. Or by opening the "Export to data lake" menu in the make portal, selecting the data lake, then open "Manage tables" widget and then select the new tables.
  2. The difference in the behavior of these two methods looks that the first one adds the table to data lake with "yearly partition strategy", while the second adds the table with "monthly partition strategy" by default (of course you have the option to chose the strategy in the second method, but the "show advanced configurations settings" is well hidden 🙂