cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
damon1972

CDS Entity Sizing/Data Usage

Hi, 

I'm a newbie to the Power Apps platform and have question regarding how much space CDS entities consume out of my capacity entitlement. Is there way to estimate, based on the columns defined in my custom entity how much each row will take up?

I've done this in the past with traditional RDBMS like SQL Server, Oracle but wondered if you can do the same with CDS entities.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Beyond the base estimate of 1GB as per the previous post, the storage for entities can be estimated as similar to that for SQL Server for any entities and fields that you add, with the addition of ~150 bytes per record for system fields (createdby, modifiedon) etc. If you want to do the calculations in detail, assume that decimal types have scale = 38, and date time is stored as the SQL datetime datatype. Also currency fields and rollup fields have additional system fields auto-created (though they show up in the UI).

In overall use, the things that can have a big affect on storage are:

• Audit logs; necessarily dependent on how much you audit, and how many changes are made
  • If using CDS/Dynamics workflows, the storage of the state of these can take up a fair bit of space. You can specify if completed jobs are automatically deleted over time, but this won't cover long-running jobs (e.g. with wait conditions), or those that fail
  • Files, and especially email attachments if emails are tracked
  • Activities; if a lot are created then this can add up. For each activity there are significantly more system fields than other entity types; I'd reckon on 1KB overhead per activity record

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
EricRegnier
Super User
Super User

Hi @damon1972,