Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
HFG
Helper V
Helper V

Combo box with PowerApps in Teams

Hi all, 

I'm building an app on the new PowerApps in Teams. I'm new to using CDS as a data source. I have a combobox (it seems dropdowns don't exist in this version) and I am trying to set the Display Field but there is no property to do so. I can delete all of the other fields so it shows only one but ideally I would like to concat the first name and last name. Can anyone help with this? 

Also, why do I have two choices for the items? 

Edit: It's not the usual combo box but a "Microsoft Core Control Combo box" and some parts work like a form. 

Thanks 

11 REPLIES 11
FCGALLEG
Community Support
Community Support

Hi HFG,

Please, check this document, you can see some examples about how to do that you need.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/canvas-apps/functions/function-concatenate

I hope it helps you.

Javier

Hi Javier @FCGALLEG ,

Thanks for your reply. I am familiar with the concat function, but unsure where to put it because the Display Field property doesn't exist  on the combo box in the new PowerApps for Teams. Do you know which property I should use?

Thanks

Lots of function not available in power apps for teams 

EricRegnier
Super User
Super User

Hi @HFG,

Do you resolve this finally? By Power Apps for Teams do you mean an embedded canvas apps in Teams or Dataverse for Teams

To answer your previous questions:

1. Dropdowns do exist in CDS/Dataverse, there are 2 types: Choice or Lookups: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/data-platform/types-of-fields
  2. To concat first and last name, you can do this out-of-the-box with calculated fields. Create a new Single Line of Text fields of type calculate and set the formula to: CONCAT(firstNameColumnName, lastNameColumnName)

Hope this helps!

Hi @EricRegnier , 

Thanks for your reply. I was meaning Dataverse for Teams.