cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ckserra33
Helper IV
Helper IV

DV Calculated column and IF statement

Hi everyone.  I am new to Dataverse and I am using a calculated column to show the remaining value left on an item.  This is working correctly, and the code I am using is below:

cr3db_totalcost - (cr3db_monthlydepriciationamount * cr3db_monthsfromacquire)

The issue is the numbers will eventually go negative.  I need it to stop at 0.  I was trying to use an IF statement, but cannot figure out the correct syntax. 

Something like If(NBV column >0,cr3db_totalcost - (cr3db_monthlydepriciationamount * cr3db_monthsfromacquire),0)

But I am 100% positive I am not approaching it correctly.

Thank you for any help!

Chris 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
joaodsantos
Resolver III
Resolver III

Hi,

I feel like this is possible, but you might need to do two calculated fields instead of one. Something like

Calculated Field 1: Total Depreciation = cr3db_monthlydepriciationamount * cr3db_monthsfromacquire

No condition for this one

Then:

Calculated Field 2: Current Value

If (Total Amount < Total Depreciation)

Current Value = 0

Else

Current Value = Total Amount - Total Depreciation

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
joaodsantos
Resolver III
Resolver III

Hi,

I feel like this is possible, but you might need to do two calculated fields instead of one. Something like

Calculated Field 1: Total Depreciation = cr3db_monthlydepriciationamount * cr3db_monthsfromacquire

No condition for this one

Then:

Calculated Field 2: Current Value

If (Total Amount < Total Depreciation)

Current Value = 0

Else

Current Value = Total Amount - Total Depreciation

Hope this helps

dpoggemann
Super User
Super User

Hi @ckserra33 ,