cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
illmatic_one
Helper II
Helper II

Dataverse - Choice Field & Model Driven Apps

I am new to creating Model-Driven PowerApps leveraging the Dataverse.  I am having difficulty with things that should be straight forward such as creating Choice fields.   

1.) Entering Values for choice fields.

The 'Value' of choice fields is numerical and autogenerated; the Display Name is the value I want to capture.  Is this by design because the tutorials I looked at didn't have the Value feature.  Also, will entering a value in the 'External Value' make a difference.

2.) Choice() Function in PowerApps Canvas App

The above poses a problem as when trying to use these fields in a Canvas App (or custom page in Model Driven apps) such as an input form.  When trying to use the Choices() function, the Values pulled in are the numerical value.  Is there any way around that? 

11 REPLIES 11
AhmedSalih
Super User
Super User

Hello, @illmatic_one , have you tried to use Choices(TableName.'ChoiceColumnName)?

Regards,

Ahmed

If my reply helped you, please give a 👍. And if it has solved your issue, please consider a 👍 & Accepting it as the Solution to help other members of the community find it more.

My Blog: www.powerplatformplace.com

Yes, that's the normal Choices function syntax and how I discovered the aforementioned issue.

@illmatic_one , You are the second person to say that this week. The other post was about Datavers for teams. Go to your Solutions > Default Solution and Publish all Costomization. 

I think we need to get to the bottom of this Choice Function issue. 

Regards,

Ahmed

If my reply helped you, please give a 👍. And if it has solved your issue, please consider a 👍 & Accepting it as the Solution to help other members of the community find it more.

My Blog: www.powerplatformplace.com

Mira_Ghaly
Dual Super User
Dual Super User

@illmatic_one