Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
IsaiahA
Advocate III
Advocate III

Dataverse Vs SQL Azure

Hi:

I am currently planning to build  a system that I hope would have 100s or thousands of users. However, I wanted to use SQL Server (SQL Azure) rather than Dataverse (based upon my reading Dataverse has SQL Azure backend). I have several years of experience, using SQL Server, and  I am late in the game to Dataverse. Could someone advise a better choice between the two? 

Thanks,

Isaiah A.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
dpoggemann
Super User
Super User

Hi @IsaiahA ,

This is only my opinion, hopefully it will be helpful...

Dataverse is a fundamental shift in your application development from code to low-code / no-code and leveraging the many capabilities within the Dataverse to speed development and features that would take time to build with a traditional application.  I know you can leverage Power Apps Canvas Apps for low-code development on top of a SQL Server environment but it does not take advantage of many features that Model-Apps do.  Some key items that are drivers for me:

1. Scalability - Model apps leveraging the Dataverse have proven to scale to thousands of concurrent users with Microsoft's performance studies with applications like Dynamics 365 for Sales.  
  2. Security - Dataverse has many security features built in including encrypting data at rest in Azure, very strong role based security, field level security, and more.
  3. Accessibility - Microsoft's Model Apps are built with ADA accessibility in mind
  4. Environments - Ability to create new environments very quickly for sandboxes, etc. and backup / restore very quickly
  5. Auditing - Built out of the box.  Enable auditing at field level within your tables and the model app already has ways to view these audit records