cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
robymes

Dataverse for Teams support for many-to-many relationships

Hello everyone

I apologize but I don't really find anything around to solve my problem.

I'm building a Power App for Microsoft Teams, using the build environment directly in Teams, I know there are some limitations, but I don't understand how many-to-many relationships work in dataverse for Teams.
I've never built any powerapps before, I started directly in Teams, most of the app is ok, but there is something that I don't underastand, and all the documentation out there is for "regular" power apps.

I created two custom tables that I tried to relate with a many-to-many relationship, but the result is not what I expected and I don't know if I'm missing something or if something is wrong in the build environment...

first question: I expected a relationship table would have been created, but no sign of it. is it correct? or should Isee it in my table list?

second question: I expected a new field in both tables that references the other table related items, but non sign of it. Again, is it correct? Honestly I don't think so, but I'm not sure.
So basically I'd like to know if working in Teams is different in some way in this particular context.
Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HSheild
Super User
Super User

Hi @robymes ,

Many-to-many relationships work in Dataverse for Teams the same way as they do for regular Dataverse. 

Q1. When you create a many-to-many relationship there is an intersect table created in the background but Microsoft have tried to simplify things so it is hidden and you can't access it directly.  Take a look at this article as it might help you work with N:N relationships in a Canvas Power App with Teams.

Q2. This is correct, new fields do not get created on either table with a N:N relationship