cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mqcp
Resolver I
Resolver I

Delegation warning when Sort() over a lookup column item

I have a table called "Master" that has a lookup column to a table called "All Products". The lookup column is called "Product". In the "All Products" table there is a column called 'Product Name'. Here is the Sort() function that throws the delegation warning. 

Sort(
    Master,
    Product.'Product Name'
)

While it seems to be working fine I want to ensure there's no issues as the dataverse tables grow. I've also attempted to use this formula but get a delegation warning as well.

Sort(
    Master,
    LookUp('All Products', Product.'Product Name' = 'Product Name', 'Product Name')
)

What's the best way to sort over a lookup column value and avoid a delegation warning?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Drrickryp
Super User
Super User

@mqcp 

Sort(
     AddColumns(
                Master,"Prodt",Product.'Product Name'
     ),Prodt
)

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
AhmedSalih
Super User
Super User

Hello, @mqcp, Sort, and SortByColumn are both delegable for dataverse but your issue is they are not delegable with a Choice value which in your case is the Lookup Column. Can you filter the data needed by any criteria and load it into a collection that you can use with the sort function? 

Regards,

Ahmed

If my reply helped you, please give a 👍. And if it has solved your issue, please consider a 👍 & Accepting it as the Solution to help other members of the community find it more.

My Blog: www.powerplatformplace.com

Drrickryp
Super User
Super User

@mqcp 

Sort(
     AddColumns(
                Master,"Prodt",Product.'Product Name'
     ),Prodt
)

Helpful resources

Announcements
Power Apps News & Annoucements carousel

Power Apps News & Announcements

Keep up to date with current events and community announcements in the Power Apps community.

Community Call Conversations