cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AndrewMortensen
Frequent Visitor

How to Import existing SQL data into the Dataverse and create relationships on existing fields

Hello,

I am new to the Dataverse and model driven apps and am looking at building a simple portal application that needs to reference existing data from an external system hosted on a SQL server (on premise). This data would be regularly refreshed into the Dataverse.

The SQL server reference tables are:

1. OrderHeader with Primary Key OrderNumber (integer)

2. OrderLineDetail that relates to OrderHeader via field OrderNumber

I have tried two methods to get the data available in the Dataverse:

1. Using the Virtual Connector (preview). This works and I can create the virtual tables, access data and even create relationships between the two tables on field OrderNumber. The problem is that related fields in Views and Table Permissions that use this relationship do not work correctly. I have tested the relationships with dummy (non virtual) tables and the Views and Table Permissions work fine so I assume my issues are due to constraints with the Virtual Connector.

2. Using Dataflows to import the tables. The problem is that the created Dataverse tables have an auto generated Primary Key and I cannot work out a way of creating the relationship between the two tables on the existing OrderNumber field. I believe the cause of my problems is that the relationship is using the GUID primary key which causes an error as OrderNumber is an Integer field.

Does anyone have any guidance on how I can access / import existing SQL data into the Dataverse and get relationships created on the existing OrderNumber field?

Thanks

Andrew

3 REPLIES 3
dpoggemann
Super User
Super User

Hi @AndrewMortensen ,

Dataflows would be a good approach here.  You should be able to relate the tables in the following way: