Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Gayathri_TU
Helper II
Helper II

Model Driven Form - Auto populate Text Field

Hi All ,

I am very new to Model driven app, I have 3 fields in the main Form First Name , Last name and Display Name.

I need to auto populate Display name with values entered in First Name and Last Name field.

Can you help me on this. Thanks in advance 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Prakash4691
Super User
Super User

Hi @Gayathri_TU ,

If it is a new field and haven't deployed to production. I would suggest you to delete and create new field for display name as calculated field.

Attaching link for your reference. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/data-platform/define-calculated-fields

If you can't create as new field then you can achieve using JavaScript or plugin. Depends on your business requirement.

If you want to populate value on change of first name or last name then JavaScript or if it on save then JavaScript or plugin.

If it answers your question, kindly give kudo and accept it as solution.

Regards,

Prakash

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Prakash4691
Super User
Super User

Hi @Gayathri_TU ,

If it is a new field and haven't deployed to production. I would suggest you to delete and create new field for display name as calculated field.

Attaching link for your reference. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/data-platform/define-calculated-fields

If you can't create as new field then you can achieve using JavaScript or plugin. Depends on your business requirement.

If you want to populate value on change of first name or last name then JavaScript or if it on save then JavaScript or plugin.

If it answers your question, kindly give kudo and accept it as solution.

Regards,

Prakash

Gayathri_TU
Helper II
Helper II

@Prakash4691  Thanks for helping me out.