cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Remopowerapps

how to use an ext field to filter a gallery in powerapps

hello everyone, I'm new in the powerapps technology and I have a question, cause I can't figure it out by myself. basically I have a gallery which contains a list of tickets and displays some informations about them. I have a dataverse database in which this informations are stored. and in the tickets column I have an ext field which is basically the relationship between the tickets table and the events table. my problem is in particular the items property of the gallery. I have setted it to use the Tickets table. but i want to be able to filter my tickets based on the events name, using this ext property which is of research type. but every time i tried powerapps gives me an error. because the column is not of type text. also another problem i have is: i can access the value of this column by doing thisitem. Name of the Ext field.Name and displays me the event name but i can do this only in the subtitles of my gallery. is there any solution? thanks every

2 REPLIES 2
dpoggemann
Super User
Super User

Hi @Remopowerapps,

In my canvas App I am giving the user the ability to filter by an "Instrument" from a "Registrations" table.  The Instrument is an other table and is a Lookup field on the Registrations table.  I display the list of Instruments in a ComboBox with the following code:  Filter(Instruments, 'Active Instruments') which is filtering by a view setup in the Dataverse.

I then do the following in my "Items" in the Gallery.  

Filter(
Registrations,
'Registrations (Views)'.'My Active Registrations',
IsBlank(cbInstrumentFilter.SelectedItems.Name) || IsEmpty(cbInstrumentFilter.SelectedItems) || Instrument.Name = cbInstrumentFilter.Selected.Name)

Hopefully this helps you identify how to solve since I think it is a similar situation...  Please accept if answers your question or Like if helps in any way.

Thanks,

Drew