cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MJ2019
Level: Powered On

Is PCF framework form aware?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to PCF framework. I've got few questions ,can anyone help me out with these ?

1)Is PCF framework form aware? What I mean is that can I check if a custom control "X" exists on form ?

2)Can I read values from other custom controls on form ?
3)can I get list of all custom controls on form ?
4)If above scenarios are not possible then what's work around?

Cheers,

Murtaza Jaffari

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Power Apps Staff HemantG
Power Apps Staff

Re: Is PCF framework form aware?

>>  4. For (1) and (3) you could analyse the Form XML programatically.

Don't access the DOM outside control , it breaks the contract and is unsupported. Instead you should have additional input property to the control which feeds in though the second field attribute. PBL works on the field controls irrespective of the control OOB or custom - see https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/lystavlen/2013/10/13/crm-2013-understanding-portable-business-lo...

You can add a PBL rule on top of controls to set the value of the input property and signal it acordingly.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
PaulMare

So a PCF control is coupled to the form via the field and dataset properties defined in the manifest.

1. The control itself knows quite a lot about the environment (see the context object), but does not have access to form aspects like "does custom control 'X' exist on form.

2. You can read values from any other from field by specifying it as an input property on your manifest. Note that you would be reading the value of the field on the form, not the value from a "custom control on form".

3. This is outside the scope of PCF.

4. For (1) and (3) you could analyse the Form XML programatically.

MJ2019

Thanks @PaulMare 

Power Apps Staff HemantG
Power Apps Staff

>>  4. For (1) and (3) you could analyse the Form XML programatically.