cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BarvoDelancy
Frequent Visitor

How suitable are Power Apps for enterprise office forms?

I've been working at Power Apps development for a couple of months now and have been asked to evaluate them for enterprise office forms. We have around 40 office forms, some of which will have approximately a thousand users.

The immediate complicating factor I've found is that our security standards means that a lot of information going into these forms is "need to know". Users can input data, but cannot have access to the back-end table. As far as I can tell, this is not native behaviour for Power Apps as the write access is on the part of the user, not the app.

Another option is to produce and send pdfs. However, none of this looks particularly simple and I am very cautious about trying to scale up something that may be technically complicated.

So in short - is this a good idea? Is Power Apps the right tool for this kind of mass centralization of our office forms, or should I be looking at a different use?

3 REPLIES 3
HSheild
Super User
Super User

Hi @BarvoDelancy 

Enterprise companies do use Power Apps at scale for scenarios that you are describing.

For securing data access, the Security Roles of the Common Data Service allow the ability for a user to create their own data and not see anyone else’s.

Creating and sending PDFs is also simple with Power Automate.

To me, it sounds like you need to understand more about the Power Platform. Talk to a local Microsoft Partner or even Microsoft directly - if you have 1,000s of users they will be more than happy to help you do some due diligence.

Thanks @HSheild, this puts me in the right direction and I'll reach out to our vendor. The building power apps forums had this question pop up a few times but I realize this was likely specific to SharePoint and the basic licenses rather than using the premium licenses with the CDS. This gives me a clear way forward.