cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
KnowledgeSeeker
Frequent Visitor

Not able to create a new environment

Hi Community,

In my school we are trying to enable couple users (5users) creating and sharing Power Apps applications which will be consumed by other users (90users).

So I started by one user, I created a new account O365 and assigned the licenses I acquire (A1 for faculty license + Microsoft Power Automate Free)but when I try creating a new environment I get the below message:  

The user does not have a license that that environment creation.

- Is my license not enough to create new environment ? Or to enable user creating canvas or Model Driven App with CDS?

- Do even Apps consumers need a license ? Which one ?

- Is Microsoft Power Automate Free enough in case I wanted to connect Power Apps to Power Automate ?

I am new to the Power Apps licensing so your help would be appreciated

Thank you in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

1) No difference in the number of users who can use apps in the default environment vs. a custom environment.  The default environment is available to everyone.  You can limit who has access to a custom environment and what they can do in it.

2) An A1 is an academic Microsoft 365 license.  One of the Sub SKU licenses included in that license is a license for Power Apps and Power Automate.  Neither of those Sub SKU licenses provide access to Premium features, only standard ones.  But anyone with that license can create or use apps in the default environment and any other environment where they are given rights.  Yes, that includes importing Excel or using it as a data source stored in OneDrive.

3) Yes, Canvas app with standard connectors.  All Model Driven Apps are premium.  Canvas Apps are premium if they use premium features like SQL as a data source.  But SharePoint, OneDrive, and Excel are all standard.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------