cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
akandis
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Rollback Solution

Hi all!

 

I would like to know if there is any way to rollback a solution.

 

Scenario:

I have a Soluction called "Health Management" and I have 3 deployments with the following versions:
- 1.0.0.1

- 1.0.0.2

- 1.0.0.3 (actual)

 

What I have to do to rollback to the version 1.0.0.2?

 

Thanks 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisPiasecki
Super User
Super User

Hi @akandis,

 

Is your deployed solution managed or unmanaged? If it is managed, you have the ability to uninstall the solution. However, do be aware that data loss will occur for any new tables or new columns to an existing table when you uninstall the solution they were introduced in.

 

If the solution is unmanaged, unfortunately you will have to remove each component manually. Note that the same data loss scenario applies when deleting any tables or columns. 

 

The other option, and as a general best practice, is to take a backup of the environment prior to the deployment of a solution. If the deployment goes unsuccessful and requires a rollback, you can simply restore the database. Note that all data and customizations added after the backup was taken will be lost after a restore, so you'll want to ensure sufficient smoke testing occurs so that any rollback decision can be made before users are let back into the system and begin entering business data again.

 

You can review the following references for more details. 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-platform/alm/maintain-managed-solutions

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-platform/admin/backup-restore-environments

 

---
Please click Accept as Solution if my post answered your question. This will help others find solutions to similar questions. If you like my post and/or find it helpful, please consider giving it a Thumbs Up.

 

 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
ChrisPiasecki
Super User
Super User

Hi @akandis,

 

Is your deployed solution managed or unmanaged? If it is managed, you have the ability to uninstall the solution. However, do be aware that data loss will occur for any new tables or new columns to an existing table when you uninstall the solution they were introduced in.

 

If the solution is unmanaged, unfortunately you will have to remove each component manually. Note that the same data loss scenario applies when deleting any tables or columns. 

 

The other option, and as a general best practice, is to take a backup of the environment prior to the deployment of a solution. If the deployment goes unsuccessful and requires a rollback, you can simply restore the database. Note that all data and customizations added after the backup was taken will be lost after a restore, so you'll want to ensure sufficient smoke testing occurs so that any rollback decision can be made before users are let back into the system and begin entering business data again.

 

You can review the following references for more details. 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-platform/alm/maintain-managed-solutions

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-platform/admin/backup-restore-environments

 

---
Please click Accept as Solution if my post answered your question. This will help others find solutions to similar questions. If you like my post and/or find it helpful, please consider giving it a Thumbs Up.

 

 

RobBoyers
New Member

Assuming you are working with managed solutions, please read this link 

Maintain managed solutions (Microsoft Dataverse) - Power Platform | Microsoft Docs

virakones
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

@ChrisPiasecki @RobBoyers 

When reading the documentation here: Maintain managed solutions (Microsoft Dataverse) - Power Platform | Microsoft Docs


"If you want to go back to the behavior in a previous version, simply re-install the previous version. This overwrites any solution components with the definitions from the previous version but does not remove solution components added in the newer version. Those newer solution components remain in the system but have no effect because the older solution component definitions will not use them.

During the installation of a previous version of a solution Dataverse will confirm that the person installing the previous version wants to proceed."


Reinstalling the solution is described - however, when I'm in the make.powerapps dashboard and attempt to import a solution of a lower version, it won't let me since it's expecting a higher version number


What does "reinstall" mean in this description?

asadrajput1
New Member

Hi. Did you get an answer to this question?

Thanks

Hi @virakones, were you able to crack the statement mentioned in that documentation? Is there anyone who can help what reinstall previous version means?

Nothing yet, aside from deleting the managed solution and the "reinstalling:" (importing) as the lower version solution, resharing my apps, etc. I had not found an easy solution to rollback unfortunately.

Sreenath01
Regular Visitor

Thank you for the response. I tried one way but not sure if it’s supported or not. I have the previous version of solution zip file. I’ve extracted it, updated the solution.xml file by incrementing the solution version in version tag, rezipped it and deployed the solution. By this way, without touching any components and just by incrementing the solution version, I was able to restore to its previous state(not really to the previous version number)

Helpful resources

Announcements
Power Apps News & Annoucements carousel

Power Apps News & Announcements

Keep up to date with current events and community announcements in the Power Apps community.

Community Call Conversations

Introducing the Community Calls Conversations

A great place where you can stay up to date with community calls and interact with the speakers.

Power Apps Community Blog Carousel

Power Apps Community Blog

Check out the latest Community Blog from the community!

Users online (5,977)