cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
johnmark8080
Frequent Visitor

version control, system development--what is the plan? Doesn't seem mature enough for reliable SharePoint development.

Hi,

I'm not sure that this comment will be helpful, but I'm a SharePoint developer from the perspective of SPServices/jQuery/jQueryUI. I've been waiting on the sidelines for a few years and now I have a project which I would like to use PowerApps for SharePoint forms. But I'm getting this unpleasant feeling related to SharePoint workflows. In 2007 at least I could look at the text files behind the workflows and then MS moved to an improved graphical workflow for SharePoint workflows, but it made documentation and version control very difficult. PowerApps are very capable but I don't understand how I am supposed to document my PowerApp. There are so many options and no apparent way to create a record of the state of the app. MS has created a graphical design environment, just like SharePoint workflows, but that structured environment does not lend itself to documenting the state of the design. Looks like there is a test case tool which I haven't tried yet--this could be helpful. I just wonder why the current standard for code development is something like GitHub but PowerApp development doesn't follow that methodology--I think.

Do I have this all wrong? What is the plan for development control for PowerApps?