cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Helper V
Helper V

How to create a data entry screen?

Hi

I am completely new to portals and cannot seem to find much in the way of tutorials.

I have created my entity and want to now enter data into it.

How do I create a data entry screen?

Also does the data get saved to the entity?

Is it possible to save it to a SharePoint list or is this not recommended.

If so then how can I do this?

Thank you

2 REPLIES 2
Power Apps
Power Apps

@sienna28 - Please see my comments below

I am completely new to portals and cannot seem to find much in the way of tutorials

>> You can start by looking at the basic documentation for portals here.

I have created my entity and want to now enter data into it.

How do I create a data entry screen?

>> Data entry in portals is done using the concept of Entity Forms. See documentation here on how to add a form to a web page

Also does the data get saved to the entity?

>> Yes the data gets saved to an entity in Common Data Service (CDS).  Having a basic understanding of CDS entities, forms and views will be helpful in ramping up your knowledge in portals

Is it possible to save it to a SharePoint list or is this not recommended.

>> From a portal saving data directly to a SharePoint list may not be straightforward and you'd have to do custom and advanced integration for that. However if data is all you want to read and write from a page then CDS entity forms and entity lists should suffice.

If so then how can I do this?

FYI, Dynamics portal can be integrated with sharepoint to manage documents. please check that https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics365/portals/manage-sharepoint-documents

Helpful resources

Announcements
News & Announcements

Community Blog

Stay up tp date on the latest blogs and activities in the community News & Announcements.

Power Apps Community Call

Power Apps Community Call- January