cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BKOrange
Frequent Visitor

Is it possible (modifying forms in portals from canvas app)? Before I run down too many rabbit holes.

Hello everyone!

I have a question about if what I'm trying to do is possible, before I run down too many rabbit holes. 

I've built an Employee Management app that I would like to connect a portal to. The portal would be for employees to log in and answer their availability (via a form), and eventually see their schedule.  However, I would like the ability for Managers to be able to modify some of the form questions from within the app. I don't want to hardcode/create a new form every time a new list of events is produced. 
The manager using the app would select which events they want to appear in the survey form for which depts/roles that survey is for. Employees would be able to visit the portal and answer which events they are available for. 

I've been using PowerApps for about 2 years and consider myself to be somewhat confident now in building canvas solutions. What I need can be built in PowerApps in an hour, but it's not feasible to buy PowerApps accounts for hundreds of guests for the sake of basically a fancy employee-tailored survey form. I'm just discovering portals and I'm a little lost in now to achieve similar results. 

I need to find an elegant way to close this loop.  Any insight would be appreciated. Not looking for someone to build this for me, just need some guidance in the right direction. 

Let me know if I need to clarify further. 

Thanks for reading!

2 REPLIES 2
ragavanrajan
Super User
Super User

Hi @BKOrange , 

This is my personal view based on your problem described. If you are trying to embed your canvas app into portal and allow guest users to access it. I believe this would still require a license because canvas powerapps forms will be consuming internal license.