cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
QuantumRemedy

JavaScript library CDN only works in modal entity form when logged in as an administrator

I set up a modal entity form that needs multi-select capability so I added CDN references to "select2" in my page and used it in the Entity Form's custom JavaScript. This was working great for me in one environment but when I moved it to a new environment, it didn't work. The first environment my account had the Administrator web role, but the second one did not. I can recreate this issue every time by removing the Administrator web role.

I can also see in the sources in the browser that when I'm an Administrator, there's a reference created to /js/select2/select2.min.js in my *.powerappsportals.com. I don't have a folder and I didn't set this up. I also don't see that when I take away my Administrator role. I'm assuming maybe that is caching, but I don't understand why this works as an Administrator and not when I take away that web role from my account.

The CDN style and script I'm linking to are here: Installation | Select2 - The jQuery replacement for select boxes It works great anywhere else too, it just doesn't work on this modal entity form unless I'm an Administrator. This is baffling me and I need this functionality to work for other users.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Fubar
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Not aware of this issue,  but a possible workaround is rather than doing it directly on the Entity Form, did you try putting it in a Web Resource embed the Web Resource on your entity form and then set the render Web Resources setting on the Entity Form definition.   (we do a Google address typeahead lookup in this manner and then update address fields on the main Entity Form when the user selects a value)

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
ragavanrajan
Super User
Super User

Hi @QuantumRemedy,