cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
chrisOrtiz
Helper II
Helper II

Portal export noob questions for a test environment

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to portals. I have a live portal website in my production environment and I need to make modifications but do not want to make them on the live portal since it is already up and running. I want to export the portal into another environment to test the changes first. I read the documentation here https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/portals/admin/migrate-portal-configuration but have further questions before I start the export:

1) Should the environment I export the portal into be production or a sandbox environment (does it matter)?

2) Will my live portal website be affected by the export? I do not want the live portal to be affected.

3) I have an ssl certificate on the live portal, what will happen to this once it is exported? Will there be 2 duplicate websites with the same url? I worry that If I make a change in the testing environment that it will make those changes onto the live website. Thank you experts!

8 REPLIES 8
OOlashyn
Super User
Super User

Hi @chrisOrtiz ,

Find answers to your questions below:

1) It doesn't matter, you can use whatever environment fits you. But using a production environment for development purpose sounds a bit like overkill.

2) No, your live portal won't be affected by export. Basically, you are just copying some records and configuration and there is no harm in that.

3) Well you need to have a new portal already provisioned in your dev environment before moving your existing portal (you need to provision a portal of the same type as you have in prod). Because this is a different portal it will have a different url and won't have your ssl certificate (that's one of the reasons why you should avoid hardcoded urls in your code). 

----------------------------------------------------