cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MalikMahamoor

Automatically (dyamically) naming files which are saved into a folder

Hi,

I have a situation where I'm extracting reports from an ERP system automatically, which are saved in a folder every hour.

I need to automatically change the name of each file entered into the folder as follows:

1. Include a serial number for each file name (file 1, file 2 etc.) with a new number being allocated to each new file saved in the folder

3. If possible, restart the numbering sequence each day (file 1 to file 24 for each hour of the day, and then start again at file 1 the next day)

2. Assign a date/time to each file name, based on the time it was saved in the folder

I'm a newbie to Power Automate so would really appreciate help in knowing if this is possible to do, and if so how it can be done.

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
VJR
Super User
Super User

Hi @MalikMahamoor 

Yes all of those actions are possible.

1. Include a serial number for each file name (file 1, file 2 etc.) with a new number being allocated to each new file saved in the folder

For this you will have to maintain the last updated number at some place lets say Excel.

Something like this.

VJR_0-1646822109629.png

- Whenever you want to assign a new number to the file name, go and read cell B1 using "Read from Excel Worksheet".

- then add 1 to it. 

- Use this new number 4 to rename the file as File 4. 

- then go and update cell B1 as 4 (for the next time to get the file number as 5).

2. If possible, restart the numbering sequence each day (file 1 to file 24 for each hour of the day, and then start again at file 1 the next day)

- If your cell value is 24 (after completing the previous day), then it means that you need to start from 1.

- Another option is to check the time of the day when the Flow is scheduled for. If the current system time is at the beginning of your day then you can start from 1.